• Driver Education


    Charmain Sutherland




    Katie Bissett





    Listed below are the documents the DMV office requires when issuing a drivers' license:

    • Certified Birth Certificate
    • Social Security Card
    • Two proofs of address (electric bill, water bill, mortgage papers, etc.)

    Additional DMV Information



    6440 Hwy 95-A North, Ste. A

    (850)438-6500 Ext. 3252

    Office Hours: Mon.-Fri.

    8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m.

    By appointment only



    6451 North W Street

    (850)438-6500 Ext. 3252

    Office Hours: Mon.-Fri.

    8:30 a.m.- 4:30 p.m.

    Skills testing available on a walk-in basis from 8:30am - 4:30pm. Lines may close early if at capacity.


    4051 Barrancas Ave, Suite A

    (850)438-6500 Ext. 3252

    Office Hours: Mon.-Fri.

    8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.


    213 Palafox Place

    (850)438-6500 Ext. 3252

    Office Hours: Mon.-Fri.

    8:30a.m.- 4:30 p.m.


    Teen drivers are involved in vehicle crashes not because they are
    uninformed about the basic rules of the road or safe driving
    practices; rather, studies show teens are involved in crashes as a
    result of inexperience and risk-taking. Teen drivers, particularly
    16- and 17-year-olds, have high fatal crash rates because of their
    immaturity and limited driving experience, which often result in
    high-risk behavior behind the wheel. Peer pressure is an especially
    potent factor. In a recent NHTSA study, teens were two-and-a-half
    times more likely to engage in potentially risky behavior when
    driving with a teenage peer versus driving alone. The likelihood
    increased to three times when traveling with multiple passengers.

    ECPS's Driver Education program is designed to teach teen drivers
    the rules of the road and to help them become safe drivers so they
    can acquire the necessary driving skills to prepare for and pass the
    road driving test and, ultimately, obtain a driver's license. Our
    program is part of the Florida Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles
    Driver Education License Assistance Program (DELAP), which
    assure novice drivers are being taught information relevant to
    State requirements. Our course gives novice drivers experience
    under certified DELAP adult supervision and protection by
    gradually introducing the novice driver to more complex driving
    situations. In fact, multiple studies report that Driver Education
    programs reduce the number of teen crashes. Talk with your
    Guidance Counselor or contact our office for more information.



    • How much is the fee for a permit?
      The permit costs $48.00 (verify with your DMV). If your student did not pass the test in school, the first re-test at the DMV office will cost $6.25.  Every re-test after that is $26.25.
    • Do I need an appointment?
      Yes, The Tax Collector's Office requires an appointment. 
    • Does my parent have to go with me to the DMV?  Yes
    • Can exchange students apply for a learner's permit?
      Exchange students should bring all papers (passport, green card, etc.)
    • What tests are required to obtain a Florida's learner's
      Students must pass vision tests, written road signs and rules test, have a signed consent form from parent/guardian if under 18, complete traffic law and substance abuse education course, be in compliance with school attendance if under 18, have a parent present to provide 2 proofs of residency.
    • I am 18 years old and applying for my first driver's license. 
      What do I need to bring?

      First time drivers must have completed a state approved drug and alcohol traffic education course, and pass both road rules, road signs, and vision exams in a driver's license office. If the applicant also passes the road skills exam, he can be issued a regular operator's license without delay.
    • I have my learner's permit.  When can I take
      my driving test for an operator's license?
      Teen drivers must hold a learner's permit for one year or until their 18th birthday.  They must have no moving traffic violation convictions 12 months from issuance date of learner's permit.  A parent, legal guardian, or responsible adult over 21 years old must certify that the driver has 50 hours of driving experience, 10 of which must be at night.  You may request a driver's skills test at your local DMV office.
    • Can I make an appointment for my driving skills test?
      Yes. Road skills tests are conducted at the following offices: Escambia Tax Collector, 6451 North W Street, Pensacola, FL/Santa Rosa Tax Office,
      6495 Caroline Street, Milton, FL.
    • Can I take the written test and driving test at school?
      Yes. If you have not passed the written test or taken it and are involved in a driver's education class at school.  Your teacher is a trained 3rd party tester and can give not only the permit test but also the driving test to any student he feels is prepared.  He/she is not required to test all students.
    • Will taking a Driver Education class help with insurance costs?
      Yes and No.  You want to inquire first with your insurance company.  Some companies offer a discount for the behind the wheel portion only, some offer discounts only if the classroom and behind the wheel are taken, and then there are some companies that do not offer any discount if the course is taken.  Additionally, we have found that students who take Driver Education online (virtual) are not eligible for the insurance discount.  Again, check with your insurance company before making a decision as to which class you enroll in.


    Skills testing is available on a walk-in basis from 8:30am - 4:30pm. Lines may close early if at capacity.

    Schedule DMV Appointment Online